ISO 20000 – ITSM Certificate

Certification Overview

ISO 20000 – ITSM Certificate

Exam Code: ISO-ITSM-001

The ISO 20000 standard focuses on the integration and implementation of coordinated service management processes. Its aim is to provide ongoing control, greater efficiency and opportunities for continuing improvement. That means working within your organization to align the staff and procedures of your service desk, service support, service delivery and operations team.

The ISO 20000 IT Service Management standard focuses on the integration and implementation of a coordinated service management process, which provides ongoing control, greater efficiency and opportunities for continual improvement. To achieve this objective, both the staff and procedures in the service desk, service support, service delivery, and operations teams need to be aligned.

The ISO 20000 standard was formerly known as BS 15000 and is aligned with the process approach defined by the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL)® from the United Kingdom Office of Government Commerce (OGC).

The standard aimed at achieving quality assurance in IT service quality consists of two main parts.

  • ISO 20000-1:2005 – a formal specification that defines the requirements for an organization to deliver managed services of an acceptable quality for customers, against which your compliance can be assessed
  • ISO 20000-2:2005 – a Code of Practice that describes the best practices for Service Management processes within the scope of ISO 20000-1. The Code of Practice is particularly useful for organizations preparing for an audit against ISO 20000-1 or planning service improvements

e-Competence Framework (e-CF)

The mapping of this certificate against the e-Competence Framework. To know more on e-Competence Framework (e-CF) visit, ECF

Exam Information

The exam comprises of 40 Multiple Choice Questions out of which the candidate needs to score 70% (28 out of 40 correct) to pass the exam.

Exams are online and proctored based, using a webcam and a reliable internet connection exams can be taken anywhere and anytime.

The total duration of the exam is 1 hour (60 Minutes).

No external sources of information may be accessed during the exam via ProctorU. Further details of the materials permitted are provided:

  • Identification Proof
  • If a Candidate does not pass the exam in the second (2nd) attempt, the candidate must wait for a period of at least fourteen (14) calendar days from the date of their attempt to retake the exam for third (3rd) time or any subsequent time.
  • The exam can be taken any number of times.

The ISO 20000 – ITSM Certificate is valid for life.

Displaying your certificate

  • Remember, when labelling a product or system as certified to an ISO standard:
  • Don't say: "ISO certified" or "ISO certification"
  • DO say: "ISO 9001:2008 certified" or "ISO 9001:2008 certification" (for example).



ITSM Certification has no pre-requisites (Completion of an E-Course is not mandatory from GAQMBok portal), but we highly recommend doing the E-Course as maximum number of questions are drawn from the E-Course in the actual exam.

Course Outline

Module 1 - ITSM - Foundation

  • Business Case for ITSM
  • ISO 20000 Requirements
  • Integration
  • Scope
  • Guidance in Compliance Assessments
  • Situations
  • Tools
  • Incident Management
  • Project Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Business Ecosystem
  • Improving Efficiency
  • Non Conformity and Compliance
  • Content Illustration
  • Support and Operations
  • Compliance with ISO

Module 2 - Operations of ITSM

  • Understanding the Organization and its Context
  • Leadership and Requirements
  • Policy Requirements
  • Organizational Roles, Responsibilities and Authorities
  • Planning
  • Impact of Risk and Opportunities
  • Competence, Awareness, Communication
  • Asset Management
  • Configuration Management
  • Relationship and Agreement
  • Business Relationship Management
  • Supplier Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Management of Internal Supplies and Customers
  • Service, Design, Build and Transition
  • Change Management Policy, Initiation and Activities
  • Resolution and Fulfillment
  • Service Request Management
  • Service Continuity Management
  • Information Security Incidents
  • Continual Improvement
  • Management Review
  • Corrective Actions
  • Certification Process
  • ISO Requirements

Target Audience

  • Individuals who want to demonstrate the reliability and quality of IT services to employees, stakeholders and customers.

Registration Process for E-Course and Exam

Premium Package
(E-Book Version)

  • E-Book Included
  • The Package also includes E-Voucher/Access Key for Certification Exam
  • The E-Voucher/Access Key can be used via ProctorU Globally.
  • Includes E-certificate and Digital Badge if you qualify in the exam.
  • Course Duration: 40 Days
  • Price: 140 USD


  • Validity: 240 Days
  • Price: 128 USD
  • Please Read Carefully:

    1) Please Purchase the Third Voucher from our E-Voucher Store to Schedule the exam via ProctorU.

    2) One Voucher can be used by one person, one time, for one exam discount/fee only.

Visit E-Voucher Store

Exam Registration

  • To Register for an Exam
Click Here